Tags

, , ,

I got my taste for fish and seafood from my parents. I grew up going to Farmer’s market in Cubao during Sundays and at an early age I knew how to spot different types of fish and seafood not to mention how fresh they are. Since I belong to a seafood loving family, it is but natural for us to be drawn to restaurants that serve good fish and seafood dishes. Whenever my mom feels like eating seafood or if my dad craves for that steamed lapu-lapu (grouper), we always go to KayMig’s at the Seaside Market along Macapagal Ave. in Manila.
Photobucket
While my parents head to the wet market to buy the seafood and fish for our meals, us kids (ehem) took our usual seat. Peewee and I usually go to the nearest seafood purveyor to check out the live fish and seafood for sale.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Here are just a few of the food that my parents ordered
Clam soup.
Photobucket
Very clean flavor. The clams were cooked just right. With a little hint of ginger taste, it was soothing.

Fried squid rings (calamares).
Photobucket
Cooking squid is a tricky thing to do. Cook it too long, it will become rubbery and you don’t want to eat rubbery squid. The calamares were sweet, soft to the bite and very addicting.

Buttered shrimp.

This is THE reason why we keep coming back to this place. Succulent sweet, salty, spicy, buttery shrimp goodness! Its finger lickin’ good!

Buttered crabs and Baked Mussels (background photo).
Photobucket
The sauce that they used on the shrimps goes well with the crab too. The baked mussels was so-so.

Steamed Lapu-lapu in light soy sauce.
Photobucket
You can’t go wrong with fresh lapu lapu. This was cooked to perfection. The sauce was not overpowering the delicate taste of the fish. Definitely a winner in our tummies.

And our all time favorite Ebi tempura (sorry no photo). We believe that they, a non-Japanese restaurant that serves one of the best tempura in town.

So whenever you are craving for some good and fresh seafood, head out to KayMig’s at the Seaside Market in Macapagal avenue.

