Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I am blessed that my parents LOVE to eat and try out new restaurants and cuisines. I am blessed to be exposed to a lot of food “scenarios” – eating the best mami at an old shack of a house in Binondo to lobster lunches at Manila Hotel. I lived at our office in Intramuros for the first six years of my life and oh boy, I had experienced some good eatin’ 🙂

If you live/work in the Manila Pier area, then you’ll know some good eatin’ at Harbor View. As I remember, their first restaurant is just at the back of the US Embassy along Roxas boulevard. This is our go-to place when we want to have some fresh seafood and good ol’ Filipino favorites. This time around, we dined at the SM by the Bay branch.

We had….
Complimentary potato chips with cayenne-mayo dip.

Peewee loved this! He kept on munching this one while waiting for the food to arrive.

Kare-kare.

I was surprised that my dad ordered Kare-kare since he always prefer fish and seafood over meat. Karekare was delightful. Gravy-like sauce, super soft chunks of beef and innards (stomach lining and intestines) and springy beans and eggplant. The sweet-spicy shrimp paste was the perfect condiment to the Kare-kare.

Grilled Black Marlin steak.

I ordered this one. A chunk of white fish, in the brink of being over cooked then glazed with melted butter. I like how its flaky and juicy. I recommend to eat it as soon as it arrives your table.

Nilasing na Hipon.

My mom ordered this. Little shrimps slightly marinated in beer, drenched in flour and then deep fried. This was a hit in our table! Crisp shrimp head and succulent shrimp body. 🙂 Dip it in vinegar with some chillies and you’re in heaven!

Calamari.

My sister Faye ordered this one. Squid ringlets dipped in flour, salt and pepper and then quickly fried. This could have been better if they lessened the pepper. For me it was too peppery, but the mayo/tartar sauce dip mellowed the spicy-ness a bit.

And Sinigang na Tangigue (not pictured) 😦
I think the sinigang was the star of the night. My apologies for not taking a photo of the sinigang because as soon it arrived in our table, the aroma of the tamarind soup took over us all. Soup was that good! It had the right balance of sour, salty and a bit spicy. My son Peewee loves sinigang (I call him the Sinigang King now) that every time we have SST (Sama Sama Together) my parents now order sinigang just for him. Peewee likes sinigang with fish or seafood more than with meat.

Overall, our Harbor View experience relived some memories when I would tag along with my parents. Harbor View still serve some good eatin’

Happy Weekend!

