Tags

, , , , , ,


I love to cook. I feel calm and peaceful whenever I whip up something for meal time or just feel like experimenting. One of the proteins I like to cook best is PORK. Who doesn’t like pork?! John likes Lechon Kawali but I don’t like cooking it because: (1) its tedious to make and (2) I fear oil splatters. I say “healthier” because of how I make the Lechon Kawali crispy.

Lechon Kawali
Serves 2-3

1/4 kilo slab of pork liempo (belly)*
2-3 tablespoons rock salt
1 bay leaf
2-3 tablespoons peppercorn
1 whole bulb of garlic

Procedure:
1. Fill pot with water almost 75% full. Boil water.
2. In the boiling water, gently put the slab of pork belly, bay leaf, peppercorns, garlic and salt.
3. Boil slab of pork belly until fork tender.
4. Preheat oven/turbo broiler to 250-325C
5. Once the pork is tender to your liking, remove from pot then let it dry for about 30 minutes. But if you are in a hurry, pat dry with paper towel. Or how I do it, I let it dry with the help of an electric fan. The drier pork slab, the crispier the skin gets. šŸ™‚
6. Place the boiled pork slab in the oven/turbo broiler for 20-30minutes until golden.
7. Cut into bite size portions.
*I suggest a slab that looks like bacon (part of belly that has little fat in between the layers of meat)

By roasting the pork belly in the oven/turbo broiler instead of frying, fat from the belly will drip to the pan and not add to your legs PLUS no oil splatter!

Skin so crisp its like lechon skin and chicharon combined

Serve with your favorite condiments, a veggie side dish and a cup of steamed white rice. šŸ™‚

PS. If you are not in a hurry, try soaking the pork with water, salt, bay leaf, peppercorns and smashed whole garlic overnight so that the spices will permeate the meat much more. šŸ™‚

Do you like lechon kawali?

