Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Peewee has been frequenting my parents’ house lately. Unlike before that he would burst into tears upon seeing our gate. But now, he would ask me to call up his Mamu (grandma) to fetch him and play with his Ates (my sisters). Like any other kid, he has an order on things when he gets to my parents’ house: Rings the doorbell twice; greets the dog; looks for Mamu or Papu (grandpa); looks at the fish in the pond; and lastly raids their fridge. He would scan the fridge for chocolates, candy, cake or ice cream. And of course being grandparents, they would offer him everything. πŸ™‚

I do my own scanning/raiding myself. You see, my parents especially mom is a person who buys/tries/eats anything that tickles her fancy. One time I saw a variety of fruit juices and they mix it up like a punch. Then the following week, native delicacies from puto Calasiao to candied durian. Now my dad… our resident Mr. Experiment err deserves a whole different blog post. πŸ™‚ Anyways, I was giddy happy when I saw this waiting for me to try. πŸ™‚

This is the famous Vjandep Pastel, a native delicacy from Camiguin. Its buttery-eggy bread like those of ensaimada with a creamy sweet yema center. A very dense bun. I heated it up a bit in the toaster and it tasted even better! Toasty crust with the yema center became more gooey. I asked my mom where she bought them and said that someone at their office building sells them door to door. Then after doing some research selected Robinsons groceries and a stall at the Market! Market! sell them. Now, I don’t have to raid my mom’s fridge for my Vjandep pastel fix.

