Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know about yours, but my family is weird. We have our own language. Like “dun sa kwan” has a meaning and “ano” means something else. And one of our terms that is often used is SST which means Sama Sama Together. SST means bonding time and this usually comes with food. Almost every weekend I’d ask my mom if we have SST or vice versa. We usually go mall hopping or my dad cooked something “elaborate” (my sisters coin this as halo-halo cooking). Last weekend my sisters, John, Peewee and me had SST. So our Saturday was spent mall hopping – first to SM North Edsa Annex to go to Ace Hardware (John) and National Bookstore (Faye) then off to Greenhills to Bridges (Issa), andΒ  Toy Kingdom (Peewee). En route to Greenhills, we were debating what to eat. Since we just had a heavy pig out last week, we opted to go the same but wallet friendly. he he he

I lost count how many times I ate at Banapple but this is our 2nd SST @ Banapple. Here’s what everybody ordered….

baby sister Faye

Faye had the Lasagna Roll ups. She doesn’t like tomato-based sauce but she liked this one. She said its more beef than tomato sauce. She loved the creamy cheese inside the roll ups but doesn’t care for the pesto bread that supposedly compliment the dish. I ate her pesto bread. πŸ™‚

middle sister Issa

Issa had the Creamy Cheesy Baked Penne. She said its too cheesy for her and Faye loved it (Cheese Addict). Issa liked the touch of sausage with the penne pasta. I liked it too (Another Cheese Addict) and John thought it was okay.

I had the Salpicao Rafael. Thinly sliced beef with mushroom and toasted garlic served with herbed rice and stir-fried carrot sticks. This is not your usual salpicao that’s salty and uber garlicky. This version is sweet with little sauce. The beef was tender and liked the mushrooms. It was okay for me, because I like my salpicao Spanish style, the ones with lots of garlic and olive oil.

John had the Hickory Smoked Country Ribs. Its his fave. He order this every time we eat at Banapple. He said its better than Kenny Rogers and Racks.

And now for the sweets….

We had the Banoffee pie. Graham crust with just-right ripe bananas with dulce de leche topped with whipped cream and chocolate shavings. Whats not to like in this humble slice? Chocolates, bananas and duche de leche… yum!

Oreo Brownie Cheesecake. An oreo crust cheesecake with chunks of brownies in the filling topped with whipped cream and a Oreo cookie. Its good, nothing really spectacular about it. John liked it, he said its not too sweet. After we cake the slices Faye and Issa had gelato at Angelati’s. I wasn’t able to take photos because I was busy with Peewee. There’s always a next time for the gelato. πŸ™‚

I had fun with them. Seeing my sisters grow up and their showing their weird personalities makes me get closer to them. As we end our meal, we were planning to have our next SST this weekend. And there are alot of suggestions worth trying. I can’t wait for the next SST! πŸ™‚

Do you have SST sessions too with family? Do you have a secret language also?

